Operations Quarterly Update

Quarter 2, 2017

Rafael Quezada has joined CANSO as Operations Programme Manager, responsible for managing CANSO's operations programme and the activities of the Operations Standing Committee and its various workgroups. He has extensive air traffic, international and programme experience, having worked in United States Department of Defence as an air traffic controller for 28 years, and most recently with the FAA in the Air Traffic Organization International Office's Africa Regional Desk. I wish to thank FAA for its continued support with this secondment of Rafael.

In April, CANSO participated in the ICAO Asia Pacific A-CDM Task Force meeting and workshop in Kunming, including presentations on CANSO's experience and best practice in A-CDM implementation and on the work and achievements of the CANSO Airport Collaborative Decision-Making Subgroup (ACDM SG).

The CANSO RPAS and Emerging Technologies Workgroup (RPAS/ET WG) will conduct its 2017 face-to-face Workgroup meeting, hosted by Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH (DFS) in Langen, Germany. This will include discussions on the global harmonisation of airspace above flight level 600 for remotely piloted aircraft systems (RPAS), and other emerging technologies such as commercial space. Additionally, the Workgroup will develop a new work plan to include unmanned aircraft systems traffic management (UTM).

Quarter 1, 2017

The CANSO Air Traffic Flow Management Workgroup (ATFM WG) participated in the ICAO ATFM Seminar in Dubai in December. CANSO is active in the ATFM domain, including involvement in the CANSO Air Traffic Flow Management Data Exchange Network for the Americas (CADENA), ICAO Manual on Collaborative Air Traffic Flow Management DOC9971 Review Panel, and the Asia Pacific ICAO Air Traffic Flow Management Steering Group (APAC ICAO ATFM SG). The Workgroup agreed that a similar Middle East AFTM initiative should be created.

The Operations Standing Committee conducted a collaborative planning training for airlines overflying CADENA Members’ airspace. CADENA Members conduct weekly live operational web conferences to outline real-time and anticipated operational constraints and capacity. This training provided the necessary first step in bringing airlines into the conversation and collaborative decision making during the CADENA operational planning conference calls.

The Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems and Emerging Technologies Workgroup (RPAS/ET WG) has produced a training module to provide ANSPs with a high-level overview of RPAS operations from an ANSP perspective. The PowerPoint presentation is accompanied by a guide for instructors/speakers and includes information on the operation of RPAS, unique terminology, contingency operations, and much more. To view the training and download, visit ATM-Net.

Subscribe to the CANSO publications