Shortlist revealed for IHS Jane’s ATC Awards 2015

20 January 2015

With seven weeks to go before the winners of the IHS Jane's ATC Awards 2015 are announced, an independent panel of experts has narrowed down more than 40 entries across six categories to a shortlist of four in each category.

The winners and shortlisted nominees for the IHS Jane's ATC Awards 2015 will be recognised at the awards ceremony on 9 March, held during the CANSO ATM Dinner in Madrid (click here to book your place). This event takes place at the Galeria de Cristal, Madrid, before World ATM Congress.

Below you will find a list of the entries. More information on all 42 nominations, including those shortlisted, will be published online at and in the March 2015 edition of IHS Jane's Airport Review.

ENVIRONMENT AWARD – recognising efforts in 'green' ATM

  • ACI, EUROCONTROL: Collaborative Environmental Management (CEM) Specification
  • DFS, MUAC, Lufthansa: Free Route Airspace Maastricht and Karlsruhe (FRAMaK)
  • DSNA: FABEC ANSPs and Airlines in SESAR Trials for Enhanced Arrival Management (FAIR STREAM)
  • TOPFLIGHT consortium (NATS, British Airways, NAV CANADA, Airbus ProSky, Boeing, Exelis): TOPFLIGHT environmentally optimised transatlantic flights

ENABLING TECHNOLOGY AWARD – for contribution to enhanced capacity and safety

  • Airbus ProSky: China ATFM/CDM system
  • FAA, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University: NextGen Mini-Global Demonstration
  • NATS, Snowflake Software, DSNA, MUAC, IAA, Orthogon: Heathrow Cross-Border Arrival Management (XMAN)
  • NAV CANADA: Controller Pilot Data Link Communications (CPDLC)

SERVICE PROVISION AWARD – for contribution to safe and efficient airspace management

  • Airports Authority of India: air navigation service improvements in India
  • Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore: ADS-B data sharing between ANSPs
  • Hungarocontrol: re-opening of upper airspace over Kosovo (KFOR sector)
  • NATS, NAV CANADA: Collaboration on Oceanic Airspace Systems and Tools (COAST)

TECHNOLOGY AWARD – reflecting a significant contribution from equipment suppliers

  • AEROTHAI: Flight Data Management Center (FDMC)
  • CS: SEDUCS cyber-intrusion protection
  • Frequentis, EUROCONTROL: SWIM-enabled open architecture for the advanced tower controller working position
  • Frequentis, Isavia: Europe's largest air/ground VoIP system for ATM

INNOVATION AWARD – for small enterprises that have raised ATM performance

  • AirIT: Virtual Airfield Management System (VAMS)
  • ASAP: all-weather flight procedures for air ambulance helicopters
  • Aveillant: 3D Holographic Radar
  • C Speed: LightWave Radar

RUNWAY AWARD – for safety and efficiency on the runway and final approach

  • EUROCONTROL, Airbus: RECAT-EU wake turbulence categories
  • Exelis: Exelis OSYRIS Arrival Manager (AMAN) integrated with Collaborative Flow Manager (CFM)
  • Federal Aviation Administration: Converging Runway Operations (CRO)
  • SESAR JU and its member projects: SESAR Airport Safety Nets


IHS Jane's thanks the following individuals for taking the time to review the high calibre nominations received from organisations all around the World:

Jeff Poole, Director General, CANSO
Philippe Merlo, EUROCONTROL Director of ATM
Vaughn Turner, Vice-President, Technical Operations in the FAA Air Traffic Organization
Kevin Hiatt, IATA Senior Vice-President, Safety and Flight Operations
Richard Macfarlane, ICAO Deputy Director Air Navigation
Patrick Peters, IFATCA President and CEO



  • World ATM Congress
  • IHS Jane’s ATC Awards
  • ATM News
  • Event

Subscribe to the CANSO publications